It’s Bang-Cock, as Justin would say

These few days have been so busy and fun.

Before my trip to Asia, we celebrated my crazy cousin Justin’s birthday. Here’s his very masculine birthday cake which I only had a tiny sliver of. Usually I don’t take pictures of food but this looks pretty good and Justin kept dodging the camera so…. if you can dodge a car, you can dodge a ball.

I left on Monday for Bangkok, and I arrived 2am Bangkok time on a Wednesday. Where’d my Tuesday go?

My mother and I transferred from Vancouver to Beijing. We part ways and bid adieu cause she went to Hong Kong first and I had to go to Thailand. Even though we were going to see each other in 2 days she got a little misty-eyed, which I thought was so cute! The Beijing airport is HUGE. I had a few whiskey sours cause I wanted to pass out on the plane.. It didn’t work and just made me alcohol sugar crash. Bangkok’s luggage claim area has an overwhelmingly large mural of … I have no clue.. Maybe someone can educate me?

At 2am, I had to go to the apartment hotel I was staying in. I’m running low on time so I’m cutting this section short. Basic summary of what went on in Bangkok was: Things are crazy cheap. 1 bottle of water = 7 baht, 100 baht = 3 dollars. You do the math. 7-eleven has actual pork buns.

I woke up early in the morning and had a workout. Oh so strenuous. Then *snap snap. Before my flight at 4pm to HK, I got myself a foot massage and a Thai massage quick like a thunderbolt.

I didn’t sleep on the aircraft again. God save me.

We arrived in HK and all I can say is, things are pretty cool here. My skin gets nice and radiant cause of the hard water. WOOT WOOT! I had a Skype call with some clients at 1am so I had to stay up. Before that I met with my cousin who looks like Garfield (My mom’s reference, I cannot find the connection but I like it). Next day I woke up at 6am, I couldn’t fall back to sleep!! So I screwed around for a little bit and went to do a Hatha yoga class. I felt my spine crack at every single vertebrae when I was doing an intense spinal twisting move, me likey. Walking back from class to the hotel, there was a new installation of the adidas x star wars store display. I don’t know what’s with Asians and collaborations but it’s cool.

Yea.. I didn’t really want to take a picture

After that I met with the Cheungs for dinner. They had a LOT of food.. WOOT WOOT!! I was extremely exhausted already and pretty much losing my mind. I don’t know why but like a reflex, I said woot woot!! and pumped my hands in the air for anything said that intrigued me. I can’t seem to upload photos right now.. but it’s all good. After dinner we went to Maggie’s hotel room at Shangri-La to hang out. Maggie is the bride and she’s the reason I went on this trip. The Chinese has a weird tradition of hair combing and candles and shit the night before the wedding. I do not know the process and I hope I don’t have to go through it cause I think it’s kind of freaky (not the good kind of freaky). Andrew and I wanted to go for a drink but we didn’t want Uncle Ricky to tag along, so Uncle Ricky and my cousins walked me back to where I stayed. Then we met up afterwards. Aqua spirit was apparently the only decent place in Tsim Sha Tsui .. But honestly, it kinda sucked. The whiskey sours are awful. The place had a kick-ass view and a decent DJ though. Going home, I was pretty tipsy already and I only had a couple drinks… I think they have more alcohol in their drinks than Canada. I went to 7-eleven to get more water and aspirin. My trick to avoid hangovers is to pop an aspiring or two (depending on how drunk I am) before I sleep. It works like a charm. The problem is, after taking the aspirin or flu medicine (which I thought was the equivalent to advil) I realized it had caffeine in it.. So of course, I woke up at 4 am and couldn’t sleep. So I closed my eyes till 6am. I was going to work out but I felt sick. According to Leanne, I shouldn’t work out if it’s below the neck so I wrote this blog entry.

Now I have to go get ready for the wedding. In the morning groomsmen go to get the bride and there’s a whole set of traditions for that. Basically it includes bribing the bridesmaids with money and doing stupid shit (games) to get into the room where the bride is. Then there’s a tea ceremony… I don’t even know what else goes on but I guess I’ll find out today. I hope I feel better and can do some more shopping here during the break period.

woot woot!!!

2 responses to “It’s Bang-Cock, as Justin would say

  1. yes, i read your blog! hope youre havin a good time in Asia. email me!

  2. - y e o w z a -

    woot woot! have fun at the wedding. i’ve already gone through two in two weeks.

    should have stopped by over in malaysia! am back here for a long break. any possibilty for a detour on your way back??

Leave a Reply

